<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>D&#039;Arcy Norman dot net &#187; mantis</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.darcynorman.net/tag/mantis/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.darcynorman.net</link>
	<description>just a lowly edtech geek, mumble mumble university of calgary</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 19 Mar 2010 04:23:35 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.2</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Mantis Spam Accounts?</title>
		<link>http://www.darcynorman.net/2007/01/31/mantis-spam-accounts/</link>
		<comments>http://www.darcynorman.net/2007/01/31/mantis-spam-accounts/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 31 Dec 1969 17:00:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>dnorman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[mantis]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[spam]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">462956522</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>
We&#39;ve been running a copy of <a href="http://www.mantisbt.org/">Mantis</a>  here in the Teaching &#38; Learning Centre to track bugs and issues in our projects for a couple of years now. And over the last few months, there have been a couple of accounts created per day in an attempt to proliferate spam. They create an account, with the URL pointing somewhere spamworthy, and then never post any content.
</p>
<p>
Does anyone know why someone would try to target spam at Mantis? I can&#39;t see how that would gain them Google juice, so I&#39;m boggled that someone&#39;s taken the time to tweak a bot to hit Mantis.&#160;
</p>
<p>
I&#39;ll occasionally go in and prune out these orphaned accounts, and make sure they haven&#39;t lefk any content, but so far it&#39;s been a strange but harmless(?) exercise.&#160;
</p>
]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p>
We&#39;ve been running a copy of <a href="http://www.mantisbt.org/">Mantis</a>  here in the Teaching &amp; Learning Centre to track bugs and issues in our projects for a couple of years now. And over the last few months, there have been a couple of accounts created per day in an attempt to proliferate spam. They create an account, with the URL pointing somewhere spamworthy, and then never post any content.
</p>
<p>
Does anyone know why someone would try to target spam at Mantis? I can&#39;t see how that would gain them Google juice, so I&#39;m boggled that someone&#39;s taken the time to tweak a bot to hit Mantis.&nbsp;
</p>
<p>
I&#39;ll occasionally go in and prune out these orphaned accounts, and make sure they haven&#39;t lefk any content, but so far it&#39;s been a strange but harmless(?) exercise.&nbsp;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.darcynorman.net/2007/01/31/mantis-spam-accounts/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
